Tags

,

I’d never had plantains before. I’d seen them in supermarkets but not really known what to do with them. I decided to take the plunge and buy some this week.

I was determined they wouldn’t rot in the bottom of the fridge giving me filthy looks every time I opened the door. So what to do with them? A quick google search suggested plantain chips. What a great surprise! I guess I was assuming they would taste a bit banana like but the potatoey taste and texture was v welcome after a week on paleo.

I fried the first batch and just tossed in some spice mix they really were an excellent substitute for crisps. The second batch were more thinly sliced and baked but without the oil from frying the salt didn’t stick at all. I guess remedying this can go on my to do list.

20140109-200531.jpg